
“Making 
education 

beyond high 
school financially 

accessible to 
all Californians”

Cal Grant
Transfer 

Entitlement 
Program

Cal Grant A
•	 For low to middle income students

•	 2.40 California Community College  
GPA minimum

•	 May be used for an academic 
program that is 2-4 years in length

•	 Can only be used for tuition and fees

1-888-CA-GRANT

California 
Student Aid Commission

California 
Student Aid Commission

www.csac.ca.gov

Cal Grant B
•	 For low income students

•	 2.40 California Community College 
GPA minimum

•	 May be used for an academic 
program that is at least 1 year in 
length

•	 Includes an additional annual Access 
Award amount (living expenses)

•	 The student will receive tuition and 
fees plus Access Award at tuition 
charging institutions



Transfer from a  
Community College 
Did you know that there is a Cal Grant 
Award for transfer students? 

If you’re planning to transfer directly 
from a California Community College 
to a Cal Grant eligible university that 
offers a bachelor’s degree, you may be 
eligible for a Cal Grant Award!

Cal Grant Award Benefits
•	 The Transfer Entitlement Award may 

assist in paying for tuition/fees and 
books/supplies

•	 Graduate from college with lower 
student loan debt as the Cal Grant 
Award does not require repayment 

“Education is the 
foundation upon which 

we build our future.” 
-Christine Gregoire

How to Apply
•	 Complete a FAFSA or CADAA by 

March 2nd

•	 Submit a California Community College 
GPA based on 24 completed 
units to the California Student Aid 
Commission by March 2nd

•	 Once you are preliminarily awarded, 
you must complete the Transfer 
Entitlement Certification form at  
www.webgrants4students.org

Contact Us
California Student Aid Commission

Customer Assistance & Processing

1 (888) 224-7268

studentsupport@csac.ca.gov

www.webgrants4students.org  

www.csac.ca.gov 

Eligibility Requirements
•	 Attend a California Community 

College the year preceding transfer 
to a 4-year qualifying institution

•	 File a FAFSA or California Dream Act 
Application (CADAA) by March 2nd 
of award year

•	 Meet financial eligibility and basic 
eligibility

•	 Be under the age of 28 (by Dec. 31st 
of academic year)

•	 Have a verified minimum GPA of 
2.40 electronically reported by a 
California Community College by 
March 2nd of award year

•	 Graduate from a California high 
school after June 30, 2000; and 

•	 Be a California resident OR meet 
AB 540 criteria at the time of high 
school graduation OR

•	 If not a high school graduate, 
be a California resident on 18th 
birthday


